Scars

23 Sep

When something fades away over time, the sense of loss is minimal. We see nature taking its course and can manage our emotional response and sense of connection.

When something departs abruptly, we are left wounded and vulnerable. It creates a hole in our life that may never be filled, and if it is, there will always be a scar to remind us of what once was there.

On Thursday, I lost the best friend I had in this town outside of my wife. He left us all too soon, with too much left to live for and so much left to prove to this world. While I will end up with a scar, I fear his family will be left with that hole in their hearts for quite a while.

Brian Pettis passed away Thursday morning just two days after being checked into the hospital. A lingering ailment quickly became acute, and sadly there was no return from the brink. As friends checked in with me through the day Thursday, all I could tell them was that I was left stunned, saddened and speechless. Finding words to share this is still a challenge.

Brian Pettis and me – in our Pro Wrestling Tees VIP vests – at the All Elite Wrestling “All Out” pay per view in September 2021.

Brian was completely devoted to his wife, Amanda, and their children. He was a fan of the Kansas City Chiefs and the Royals. He dabbled in stand-up comedy but was a full-time comedian, and he loved the music of Coheed and Cambria. Our connection was through professional wrestling.

We’d discuss and break down current shows, share memories of classic performers like Dusty Rhodes and Bret Hart, and trade our own storyline ideas. We’d share links to great matches posted online. Brian’s brother, Mike, got involved with the Mid-Missouri promotion New Breed Wrestling, and before we knew it, Brian and I were the commentary team for New Breed’s internet broadcasts.

I won front-row seats for All Elite Wrestling’s “Revolution” pay-per-view show in February 2020 in Chicago; Brian didn’t believe me when I called to see if he was up for the road trip. That drive is when I learned about Brian’s highway anxiety, but we managed it fairly well. The pay per view was fantastic and we devoured the best pizza in the world from Pequod’s.

Just two weeks ago, Brian and I made another #WrestlingRoadTrip to Chicago for AEW’s “All Out” pay per view and a collection of independent shows leading up to it. In all, we caught five wrestling shows over three days. It was so great to share the experience with someone who was enjoying it as much as I was. Brian even cut the merchandise line (inadvertently) to get me the limited, arena-only event T-shirt at the pay per view.

When Mike messaged us that Brian had been admitted to the hospital, I was re-watching a match featuring Brian’s favorite wrestler, Kenny Omega. This weekend, I will pull out my DVD of that “Revolution” show we attended and likely shed some tears remembering all the details of our trip.

Scars build up over time, and often we find ourselves running our hands over them without thinking; I believe it’s a subconscious way of reminding us of experiences as well as our ability to heal. I know many of us will watch over Amanda and their children, providing whatever support they will need. While it will take some time for my scar to build up, so long as I watch wrestling, Brian will be right there with me.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.